Minimalism Project 7: The Closet

This is the BIG ONE.

I have been working on minimizing my closet for 6 months, and I’m still not done. But you know what? I feel lighter. And getting dressed doesn’t feel overwhelming anymore.

And, most importantly, I don’t buy clothes nearly as often!

I’m going to break up this project into bite size pieces. Go at your own pace and really take your time. This can be really fun!

Part one: The Purge

First, get rid of all the clothes that don’t fit. Or that are really worn. Or that you just generally don’t like. That’s pretty painless, right?

Then, turn all your hangers backwards. As you wear clothes and put them away again, turn the hanger facing the correct way. This will give you a clear picture of what you actually wear. On average, people wear 20% of their clothing 80% of the time. Think about that for a minute.

Part two: Dream Wardrobe

This is the fun part. Look through your remaining clothes for patterns. Do you have a lot of certain colors or styles? If you actually like clothes, you might have a pretty easy time with this. But if your like me, your closet might be a mishmash of band shirts and some dresses from target. So I went on pintrest and made a board of outfits I liked. Then when I looked through the board I created , I could start to see my own sense of favorite colors and style.

From your new insight into style, you can create a color palate. Pick 2 or 3 neutral colors, and 3 or 4 secondary colors you like (that all match) to design your wardrobe around. For example, my neutrals are white, black, and grey. My colors are maroon, olive green, and light pink. All 6 of my colors coordinate together.

Having a color palate means that every single clothing item I have matches literally EVERYTHING else in my closet. It also stops me from impulse buying clothing, shoes, and accessories. I know exactly what is in my closet and if what I am buying will match what I have, because it will match everything, or nothing. It’s really that simple.

Below is an example list for a “complete” wardrobe. Do a rundown of what you already have in your closet (in your color palate, of course) and then make a shopping list of what you still want.

Part Three: Perfecting

Obviously, a perfect wardrobe in your color palate doesn’t happen overnight. That’s why  I’ve been working on it for 6 months. You just have to keep weeding out things that don’t fit into your colors and be hunting for clothing items you love that do.

Because that’s what minimalism is, right? Filling your home with things that are practical and things that you love, and nothing else.

So what do you guys think? Could you limit yourself to 6 or 7 colors and an intentional wardrobe?

 

 

 

If you care, I made a list of my minimalist wardrobe. (32 pieces). There are still a few more pieces I would like, but I’m really happy with what I’ve accomplished so far.

7 Bottoms: 2 pairs of blue jeans, 1 pair pink skinny jeans, 1 pair black skinny jeans, 1 pair black shorts, white skirt, patterned skirt

13 Tops: 5 solid tank tops, 5 solid t shirts, 3 patterned tops

5 Dresses: green maxi dress, black and white maxi dress, 3 patterned short dresses

7 Other: Maroon cardigan, grey cardigan, 2 yoga pants, 3 work out shirts

Leave a Reply

